Suspended Animation Dreams


Cat’s World ch. 1 by Okama, Translated by The Rabbit Reich – So Much Pussy… by metalsonic700
October 17, 2009, 7:58 pm
Filed under: Cat's World, Manga, Okama | Tags: , , , ,

Between this and Nyan Koi, I am going to be blogging about boatloads of pussy. I love Okama’s artwork, though I seem to have some issues when he writes manga, perhaps it’s just because it’s black and white? Oh, here’s the link to The Rabbit Reich’s scanslation. And another link to Okama’s site (Gallery is the third tab).

As you can see in Okama’s gallery, he mostly draws pictures of characters (usually wearing some kind of absurd garment), and rarely is there much of a background. The truth is, for all of Okama’s excellence, I think he probably just sucks ass at drawing backgrounds. Most of what I’ve seen from Okama myself is his character art, and I’ve only tried out three of his manga – Cloth Road, which I literally only read a few pages of and then forgot about – Hanafuda, an excellent H doujin (you can find that here, NSFW) – and now, Cat’s World. Of the three, Hanafuda is the only one in which the background art struck me as great, and it’s probably because the whole thing was done in color, and with no outlines.

Great characters art, but where the hell are they supposed to be?

Great character art, but where the hell are they supposed to be?

The reason I’m so stuck on the backgrounds is because of the major problem I had with Cat’s World, which is that I can never tell what the fuck is going on. The artwork of this manga has a sort of transient quality, like nothing there really matters – the places are drawn so sparsely that it’s like the world doesn’t really exist around the characters. I get no sense of where people are, how far they’ve traveled between scenes, or how large the scope of this story is. I was pretty sure at first that the cat virus had only effected one town, but then it was apparently much more, and then I wasn’t sure how much distance there was between the hospital (is that even what it was?) the park place and then the aircraft. Perspective is totally lost both in imagery and storytelling.

I’m also confused about who was who, exactly. Wasn’t the guy who saved them at the end the doctor? But his name was the same as the guy she told the doctor she wanted to see? And for a second I had thought the OB was something the girl had turned into, rather than something that she summoned. This all lead to lots of flipping back-and-forth between pages to make sure I had some idea of what was happening.

Its a great shot, but at first it seems like shes transformed...

It's a great shot, but at first it seems like she's transformed...

All that said, though, this was a fun little chapter. Love the loli, especially because she feels like a magical girl, and I am big on magical girls (if you couldn’t tell from the about page.) Her disarming of the terrorist guy at the park was the crowning moment of sex for this chapter, namely when the girl does a hand-stand and kicks the gun from the guy’s hand. Everything about that image, from the form of her body to her facial expression, was delightful.

My favorite moment of the chapter.

My favorite moment of the chapter.

The premise is fun enough too, especially in the way it is talked about by the characters. The series takes something totally silly and comic that might have been made light of in a lesser series, and plays it totally straight, though not without an awareness of how inherently silly it is. There’s a fine balance between making something totally silly and something playfully serious, and Cat’s World has the perfect balance.

I don’t think the whole sci-fi/mech girl element was necessary, though. It made me feel as though while I was still getting used to this cat world idea, the world was already pulling more cards from it’s sleeves. Hopefully, though, with all of this information out in the air, the next chapter will play around with all of the existing plot elements and not try to cram in even more, and possibly end up overloading the story.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OK, let me tell you how I saw it (mind you, I’ve only read the first chapter too).

1) The doctor is called Kiko. The man who saves Kaka is called Sun, and he is the same man volunteering at the cat food thing. Kiko and Sun are not the same, but the girl Kaka had doctor Kiko taste the cake she was baking for Sun…

2) Kaka is not the OB, but I guess you figured that already.

3) Basically, Sun was a triple agent. He was helping Kaka and the cats, but in fact he was a terrorist with the KOC who wanted to hurt cats, BUT IN ACTUAL FACT he was working for the police/Greens all along.

3) Kaka’s “arrest” of Sun is all a charade, to bring out the KOC and have them transport Kaka to their secret base.

I think the issue was this: an OB (android) was needed to destroy the secret base. Kaka has an OB, but how could a little girl infiltrate a terrorist group?? She couldn’t, so they had Sun infiltrate first, staged an incident to have Kaka captured, and finally released the OB aboard to kick major ass.

This might be all wrong BTW, but it’s how I see it so far. You’re right about the backgrounds, the story gets real confusing real soon!

Comment by animekritik

This makes sense, but the only thing that bothers me is her laying it on so thick – it seemed like she really thought she’d been betrayed. Besides that, though, your theory seems sound enough.

Comment by metalsonic700




Leave a Reply

