Suspended Animation Dreams


Omamori Himari – I Will Sex The Cat (Slightly NSFW) by metalsonic700
January 8, 2010, 4:00 pm
Filed under: Ami Koshimizu, Anime, Omamori Himari | Tags: , , ,

Because ‘a cat is fine too’ feels so passe.

I’m not gunna kid you, this show is exactly what you think it’s going to be. Well, maybe a little better – the animation, while nothing to write home about, can’t be called bad at all (ZEXCS is doing a better job with Chu-Bra, though). The character designs, while nothing you haven’t seen 10 times in the last week, are attractive. What’s more, I can’t complain about the vocal cast. You can semi-instantly tell that Rinko’s voice actress is a n00b, but that doesn’t make her less good. The dude is played by MANkoto from School Days. But they don’t really matter – you’ll forget about them ten seconds after the episode ends.

The girl at the bottom is cute, but against Himari, she's just immemorable.

The reason you’ll contemplate watching more of Omamori Himari is that Himari is interesting. And she owes it ALL to being voiced by Ami Koshimizuno, do not fucking question or correct me, I did my god damn research here to prove that Koshimizu makes this character. I started with the design – i like the design a good bit. That’s saying something, ya’ll. I may be one of those guys who’d put his dick in a toaster if it looked at me the right way, but I will say that it takes an exceptionally good-looking design to convince me that I do, in fact, like big breasts. And her’s are gargantuan. So follow me here.

The maid is kind of not-sure-if-want

I started looking for images of Omamori Himari, figuring that since it’s based on a manga then it would already have a fanbase. I stumble on some great stuff and am very quickly confronted with the fact that the girls are more attractive in the manga (Something to do with the way low-budget anime have a tendency to ‘lift’ the hair on all the characters, and the greater attention to curves put forth by the manga-ka.) Anyway, 17 minutes of questionable activity later I was reading the manga and found myself completely bored. Bemused as I was by the subtle plot changes between mediums and the ungodly shitty translation job (If you don’t know how to make olde English sound right, then just give up), Himari was not at all living up to her fun level from the anime.

Fuck it I give - A CAT IS FINE TOO! Now take me to overkilled meme prison

And I realized why – this girl could have been fitted with any kind of voice. Reading the manga, I see her gorgeous body as she humps the guy’s leg and as she fights with her awesome katana and I realize I’ve seen this character exactly 73 times before. Had I never seen the anime, I might have heard her voice as being more of a high-pitched and flirtatious voice that says ‘ara’ a lot. Instead, she has the voice of Holo, Kallen Stadtfeld, Anemone, Paraietta, and Charlotte E Yeager. Ami Koshimizu is an amazing voice actress and even though she’s working on a low-budget production with a script that probably made her facepalm, she turns it into something full of life and gives birth to an interesting and completely hot character.

Digital Boy once said ‘I want to fuck (was it Paku Romi?)’s voice’ and I can probably say the same about Ami Koshimizu in this role. Ami, were it not for your deep and seductive tone, I might not have been on the brink of explosion when Himari’s breasts were drifting just above that guy’s chest. (This is, of course, the last compliment that Koshimizu would have wanted to hear.)

I’m not going to say that I’ll continue Omamori Himari, because I liked Nyan Koi even more and I forgot all about it after two episodes, but if I continue to watch then I’ll post about it here. Maybe.

Wait, holy shit, who's that girl on the left?! Let's see some more of that girl!

EDIT: Forgot to mention! The loli! The loli at the end of the episode who appears to only wear a see-through dress and panties! That’s more than enough reason to watch at least one more episode.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I may be one of those guys who’d put his dick in a toaster if it looked at me the right way, but I will say that it takes an exceptionally good-looking design to convince me that I do, in fact, like big breasts.

I just can’t express to you how hard I lol’d. Anyway, I just watched it recently as well, and I’m pretty much going to agree with you. I’m keeping it somewhere in the back of my mind to hand off to my shounen-loving catgirl-obsessed friend whenever he finds the time, but otherwise, I don’t even think I’ll continue to watch this.

Comment by ultraeternalblackout




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

